The Roman Catholic community of the greater Portsmouth area, which formerly consisted of three parishes served by multiple priests, now exists as a single parish, which includes the parochial school, cemetery, properties, and infrastructure created by the three former parishes.  Since June, 2006, the three former Portsmouth parishes, Immaculate Conception, St. Catherine of Siena, and St. James, have become one parish served by one pastor.  The unified Catholic community of Portsmouth is now known as Corpus Christi Parish, though the three church buildings retained their original names.

On April 28, 2017, St. James was removed from sacred use.  The church and rectory have been sold.  The parish offices, located at St. James Church since June 2006, moved in November of 2017 to the St. Catherine campus, 845 Woodbury Ave.

On June 23, 2017, St. Catherine was removed from sacred use.  The church building will be converted in early 2018 into our Parish Center, with a parish hall on the main floor and meeting spaces in the lower level.  The parish offices moved to the former rectory at the 845 Woodbury Avenue campus in November of 2017.


For more information about the three former Portsmouth parishes, click on the name of the parish below:

Immaculate Conception

St. Catherine of Siena

St. James